In 2011 Matt Lavelle created the12 Houses Orchestra, comprised mostly of musicians he has collaborated with over a 20 year period in New York City. The 12 Houses have performed thirty-five concerts in New York City as of March 2016. Currently the 12 Houses have an every Sunday residency at Nublu in downtown New York City, and have a book of over 50 compositions. This Spring of 2016 the 12 Houses released their debut album on Unseen Rain records called Solidarity.

Lavelle has played and collaborated with Ornette Coleman, William Parker, Warren Smith, Henry Grimes, Eric Mingus, Sabir Mateen, Roy Campbell, Daniel Carter, Jemeel Moondoc, Mat Maneri, Ras Moshe, Hilliard Greene, Steve Swell, Matana Roberts, Bern Nix, Jack DeSalvo, Charles Downs, Tom Cabrera, Francois Grillot, Giuseppi Logan, William Hooker and many others.

With over 20 appearances as a sideman on record, Lavelle has also released six records as a leader:  Handling the Moment (2002), Trumpet Rising, Bass Clarinet Moon (2004), Spiritual Power (2006),  Manifestation Drama (2009), and Goodbye New York, Hello World (2011), and Solidarity (2016). In addition, Lavelle is a prolific blogger and writer. He published his first book, New York City Subway Drama and Beyond in 2011. In 2013 Lavelle published  a second book called The Jazz Musician’s Tarot Deck. Lavelle is also author of the blog No Sound Left Behind.

12 Houses Members

Nicole Davis- trumpet
Art Baron-trombone
Mary Cherney – flute

Alex Hamburger- Baritone Sax
Ras Moshe- Tenor sax/soprano/flute
Charles Waters- alto sax/clarinet
Sweet Lee Odom- Soprano sax/clarinet/alto sax

Ramsey Ameen- violin
Stephanie Griffin-viola
Mark Hagen- cello
Francois Grillot-bass

Jack DeSalvo- Guitar/banjo
Anders Nilsson- Guitar

Chris Forbes- piano
Chien Chien Lu-vibes

Anais Maviel- voice
Ar Braf- rap

Jeremy Carlstedt- drums